More Tax Relief for Victims of Hurricane Sandy

More Tax Relief for Victims of Hurricane Sandy

More Tax Relief for Victims of Hurricane Sandy

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has announced more tax relief for businesses and individuals affected by Hurricane Sandy in Connecticut, New Jersey, and New York.  The IRS states that more areas will likely qualify for tax relief after FEMA conducts more damage assessments.  

The newest wave of tax relief resulting from Hurricane Sandy involves deadlines that started in late October.  Affected taxpayers now have until February 1, 2013 to file returns and pay taxes that were originally due at the end of October.  

The extension applies to fourth quarter estimated tax payments for individuals that are originally due on January 15, 2013.  The extension also applies to payroll and excise tax returns and any other payments for third and fourth quarters that were originally due on October 31, 2012 and January 31, 2013.  If you were required to file Form 990 for tax-exempt organizations, the extension applies as well.  

If you received a late-payment or late-filing penalty after the storm and before November 26, 2012, you can have the penalties waived if you make a deposit before November 26, 2012.  

The IRS has announced that it will clear any interest, late-payments, or late-filing penalties if the taxpayer qualifies for the extensions.  If you live in impacted parts of Connecticut, New Jersey, or New York, you do not need to contact the IRS to qualify for the extension.  

The IRS is also helping taxpayers who reside outside of the counties listed by FEMA.  If you are worker who assisted in disaster relief after Hurricane Sandy and you are affiliated with a government or qualified organization, you can receive tax relief.  If you live outside of the designated area but believe you still qualify for relief, call (866) 562-5227.  

Qualifying Areas in Connecticut:

•    Fairfield
•    Middlesex
•    New Haven
•    New London
•    Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation and Mohegan Tribal Nation in New London County

Qualifying Areas in New Jersey:

•    Atlanti
•    Bergen
•     Burlington
•    Camden
•    Cape May
•    Cumberland
•    Essex
•    Gloucester
•    Hudson
•    Hunterdon
•    Mercer
•    Middlesex
•    Monmouth
•    Morris
•    Ocean
•    Passaic
•    Salem
•    Somerset
•    Sussex
•    Union
•    Warren

Qualifying Areas in New York:

•    Bronx
•    Kings
•    Nassau
•    New York
•    Queens
•    Richmond
•    Rockland
•    Suffolk
•    Westchester

Source: Internal Revenue Service




Related Articles

Read previous post:
What are Toll Booths?